Mauritius has focused the development of its Global Business centre on the use of its growing network of double taxation treaties for structuring investment abroad. Many high net worth individuals and multinational corporations have used Mauritius to route their investments into emerging regions such as India , China and Singapore .
The various tax treaty benefits have appealed to investors aiming to optimise the regional tax planning opportunities offered through the tax treaty network. Substantial foreign investments have been channeled through Mauritian Global Business vehicles and this is expected to increase as the Mauritius treaty network expands and as investment prospects in the region improve.

So far Mauritius has ratified twenty six treaties. The treaties currently in force are with Belgium, Botswana, Cyprus, France, Germany, India, Indonesia, Italy, Kuwait, Luxembourg, Madagascar, Malaysia, Mozambique, Namibia, Nepal, Oman, Pakistan, People’s Republic of China, Singapore, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Thailand, United Kingdom and Zimbabwe.Treaties await ratification with Lesotho, Senegal, Rwanda and the Russian Federation.

Mauritius has initiated treaties with Bangladesh , Malawi , Croatia , Canada , Greece , Portugal , Uganda , Zambia , Tunisia , Czech Republic and Vietnam .


Leave a Comment